Living my dream

By Mima

Mima-made rainbow

This rainbow appeared when I turned on the sprinkler on the brassica (and overflow beans) bed this morning. What a delight.

The temperature has ‘only’ been 31C today. It has actually felt slightly more bearable. There’s been a breeze, but sadly the clouds aren’t due until tomorrow morning, so there's a hot night ahead.

Bean and I were out and walking before 9am, and I’d already baked the sourdough and picked the basil by then.

A bucket of basil leaves whizzed down to make four jars of pesto, two of which I shall de-jar and freeze now that I’ve seen all the useful comments on yesterday's Blip. Thank you all…I learn so much here.

I popped up to the cowshed to collect milk and discovered that the dangerous tap on the milk tank to is no longer stiff and heavy to manipulate which is quite the relief. There’ll be no more anxiety about projectile vomiting milk across the yard.

While the milk was pasteurising back at home I cut up a couple of dozen courgettes, onions, ginger and garlic to make a batch of chutney. It will boil down tomorrow as it got too hot to have anything cooking.

As the day heated up I slowed down, until eventually I spent the best part of the afternoon sitting in the breeze in the shade with a jug of iced water and a book.

Somehow a) I managed to stay awake and b) I’ve fallen behind with looking at Blips again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.