Living my dream

By Mima

The worlds a-turning

The days are getting a wee bit shorter. When I get up each morning dawn is just about breaking. This morning’s was particularly pretty…and foretold bad weather which ever arrived.

Cheddar cheese making was the main task of the day, with a heap of watering fitted around the different steps of turning milk into something solid.

My friend A came round for the afternoon to use my sewing machine. She brought their 18 month-old Pomeranian dog, who on a previous visit had shat in my slippers. He is supposed to be well behaved now, so A was confident bringing him back.

Not so. He peed on the sofa. And then he terrorised the hens, charging round and round the outside of their run, yapping furiously (and ear-piercingly).

A put him on a long leash in the shade where he could see her, but where he couldn’t do any more naughtiness. He yapped incessantly for three hours. My ears were ringing. We have agreed he won’t come with A next time.

He was completely indulged as a puppy and has no boundaries that he understands. While I know it’s not his fault he’s so badly behaved, I honestly don’t like him much. It may be the yapping which sends me over the edge.

Needless to say Bean can’t stand him and retreated to a safe place for the duration.

We’re both enjoying a very quiet and peaceful evening.

P.S. A late addition of the extra: a fabulous end to the day in the sky in the shape of a rainbow accompanied by rumbles of thunder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.