Chop, chop

Well today must hold the record for the greatest number of weather changes in one day! They say that when two Brits get together their first talk is of the weather, but there's a good reason for it!

It rained early on this morning and later on we had a sleet shower. The sun tried to get through on a number of occasions and as I had to go down town I took the opportunity of driving up to Pulpit Hill as the sky was black and the sun was lighting everything up from the rear. As I walked up to the viewpoint,  four large birds - swans, I thought, tho' they might have been geese - flew by, lit up against the dark background. I was 5 seconds too late! I had to make use of this helicopter making its way to the landing pad beside the hospital for my Blip.

Back home we had a beautiful snow shower, with huge, drifting flakes! It wasn't very long before we were treated to a vicious hailstorm before the clouds drifted away and the sun shone. We took this opportunity to have a walk around the streets, ending up at McCaig's Tower where Mrs M and I discussed the viewpoint sign attached to the railings - it has always annoyed me as it's set at the wrong angle! A local friend and I had previously talked about nipping up there to move it, so while I was there I took a measurement of the nut size on a piece of paper.

Very strangely, later in the afternoon the friend phoned to ask if I would like to go up to the Tower to move the sign! So we did - the wind was strong and bitter and we couldn't have chosen a worse day! So now it's facing slightly more towards the right direction and I hope will save too many tourists from being confused!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.