A practice and performance day

This morning I performed with the newly formed trio at Rossett near Wrexham.  P#1 gave me a lift which was great and we met P#2 at the venue.  It was a pub that was providing an occasional musical morning for it's customers.

We were given coffee and homemade cake then we performed to a full room, mostly retired people.  The audience seemed to enjoy it and we've been asked back later in the year.

This afternoon I got down to practice for tomorrow night's performance with the ceilidh band. The papers on the piano are tune lists, I practice them from recordings of the main musician and play along with him.  It suits me better than using the written tunes ( most of which I don't have anyway).

I have just counted them up and there are 159 tunes in the set list! I have to run through as many as possible as I won't know what we're playing until we're about to strike up as it will depend on what dances the caller chooses.  It keeps me on my toes as well as the dancers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.