Pomparles Bridge

The Pomparles Bridge crosses the River Brue on the main road between Street and Glastonbury and was built in 1912 on foundations dating back to the12th Century. The name is an an Anglicisation of the Latin Pons Perilis (Perilous Bridge).

Legend has it that, in the days of King Arthur, it crossed the edge of a big lake, formed by the Brue, and was home to the Lady of The Lake and guarded the southern entrance to Avalon.

I walked across it this morning on my way to meet Tess at our friends’ Tony & Rosie for coffee after the ladies had finished their Keep Fat class.

This was as much of the inscription on 5he current bridge I could fit in. To get it all in I’d have had to step backwards into the path of the steady stream of fast moving traffic that was thundering past. As it was, Tess told me I was getting some bemused looks from passing motorists as I squatted on the kerb :)

Just the weekly shop this afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.