A new woman

A very rare selfie (of sorts), to mark a big change!

At the beginning of June last year, I had long, thick grey hair - it had been much the same for 15 years. And I liked it!

Less than 2 weeks later, I thought I must be sitting in a draught as the back of my head felt cold. It didn't take long to establish that it felt cold due to a distinct lack of hair - a large bald patch had appeared. Luckily, for most of the time, it was covered by the long hair on the top of my head. My lovely GP ordered blood tests, which revealed nothing abnormal. Possibly an immune response to something or other, but goodness knows what!

Anyway, all the rest of the long hair decided to part company with my scalp, but gradually. So whilst I had very thin hair for a while, much to my relief there was only the one bald patch. It's amazing how many hairs on one head! For months there have been long grey hairs all over the flat - on my clothes, on the sofas and cushions, in the vacuum cleaner, down the plug holes and, occasionally, in our food. In July I had the long hair cut to shoulder length, so the hair loss would be less obvious.

After a couple of months, regrowth started on the bald patch, and then generally all over my head. A couple of weeks ago, much of the hair was spiky short regrowth, with thin stands of long hair at the sides, vaguely reminiscent of hairstyles of the early '70s but with less hair!

Time to take the plunge and make an appointment with the hairdresser, and today was the day. It took Laura a while to sort out the various hair lengths, and this is the result. Pretty good, I think, but it'll take a while to get used to!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.