Midwinter Sunshine

A rise of five degrees, that's Fahrenheit, on yesterday's high may not seem much, but it made all the difference and I enjoyed a stroll at a leisurely pace. In fairness, it was probably the lack of wind that helped most, although we're still south of freezing.

I engineered a position to exclude the sky and fill the frame with oak leaves for this shot. I thought they made for an interesting pattern. The ochre tones and filtered sunshine raking across them gives a warm feeling. I included a branch for contrast and to give a bit of structure.

I finally upgraded to LR v11 and got to grips with masking. It wasn't immediately obvious how to apply a luminosity mask to a radial filter, but a bit of googling helped me out. By holding the Alt key, the Add and Subtract buttons are replaced by one labelled Intersect (or use the menu). Not slick, but more flexible.

Extra: Matchless.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.