The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Grateful

There was only one thing on the news as I drove home this evening, and the Union Jack was flying at half-mast on Arnside Pier.

I don't use this place for discussing politics, so I won't say much here. Mrs T's legacy is being dissected endlessly. Her time in power was extraordinarily divisive, and still she divides opinion strongly. It was a tumultuous, turbulent time to live through, and we in the UK have all been shaped for better or worse by the decisions she took and the events that followed. I have said before that in a curious way, I owe my career in nature conservation to her, because the cuts she instigated led to the curtailment of my academic career. It pained me then, but I owe everything I have now to the choices I made afterwards. For that I am grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.