Sheltered

TT was off at work today, so left early as usual.  My first task of the day was to make sure BB got out of bed and to school – I won’t say in time, as I am sure he must have been late – even though I did all I could to make sure he wasn’t late.  I was doing a few chores at the same time which included disposing of a couple of things that had been lurking at the back of the fridge for too long!  This resulted in a more detailed fridge clear out – a few half used jars that had also been there just too long. 
 
I then went out for my Friday run.  It was a nice morning, but very windy, so I just ran three miles out along the railway path and back again.  That long low uphill gradient designed by railway engineers is quite kind to runners.  It was nice to be out in the sunshine, and slightly sheltered.  Later I popped out for lunch.  I usually order online and just collect, but the website wasn’t working.  I wasn’t sure if the shop was even open – but it was.  Turns out their website is being upgraded this week.  I picked up lunch then ran back up the road to get BB fed, make sure he did a covid test and then got himself ready for rugby training.
 
I dropped him at rugby and went for a walk.  He was playing at Prestonpans, so I walked to Port Seton again, as I did a couple of weeks ago when he was playing football there.  It was still lovely and sunny, but cold and I had the wind behind me, but I wasn’t looking forward to turning round.  By the time I turned round the weather was changing.  It was getting darker and there was a rain shower.  I changed by route back, so I wasn’t walking straight into the wind.  It rained, it hailed and by the time I got back to the car I was rather damp and very cold.  I had just settled myself down to read my book, when BB appeared.   They had cut the training short due to the deterioration of the weather.  He was frozen, wet and muddy.  He had had a great afternoon, scored a try and said he had to be careful going into tackles as he couldn’t feel his hands and he didn’t want to break his fingers as he wouldn’t have felt it!!!!
 
By the time we got back, the sun was out again.  I dropped him at home and went and did a little bit of shopping.  Later we had an easy tea, I finished my book (Stanley Tucci) and then watched a bit of Olivia Coleman on TV.  I was falling asleep and could barely keep my eyes open.  It was 10.55pm and BB came and asked me if I would help him with an essay.  I had to decline as I retreated to my bed!
 
It was rather choppy out in the Firth of Forth today, but this wee boat was sheltered in Cockenzie harbour.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.