Celebration

Something good to be thankful for.
Seventy years ago today the 25 year old Princess Elizabeth became our Queen.
I believe we could not have had a better Head of State. In terms of an example of behaviour, hard work and devotion to her task she has been a shining example.
I know some blippers are Republicans who believe that hereditary monarchy is outdated. Indeed I have good friends who take that view. But I am sure they will agree that if you are to have a Queen you could not have had a better one.
And I look around the world to where Presidents and Prime Ministers double upas head of state and I am led to believe that our apolitical Queen can better project our values and way of life to the world.
Here in Arnside we are celebrating by flying the largest flag which has ever been flown on our little pier. It is 17 feet by 7 feet. My spies tell me it once flew on an aircraft carrier.

God Save the Queen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.