Grey Heron

When I went up to the loch this morning I was relieved to see that the young one was not at the gate. As I approached the loch she flew over from a tree near in the middle of the water. She landed on the grass and came to meet me. I had just started feeding her when a man walking a dog approached, in all fairness he called his dog over and put it on a leash. However the young one was not settled and flew over to the drainage area and landed in the water. I followed her over and continued feeding her when the male Heron flew over to join her. She was not having it and chased him off about 50 yards up the loch. She then returned. When he also came back she chased him again, this time right up to the other end of the loch! I wasn't sure if she would come back but she did. The male flew back as well but landed on a branch in the middle of the loch and stayed there. When the young one had finished her fish she flew over and chased the male onto another branch and settled on the branch he had been using.

The extras are poor shot of her chasing the male the first time, the young one returning after having chased the male up the loch and the male on the tree. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.