Sunday With The Dogs

Today’s Entry Shows the setting sun shining through Knockhill Wood and almost in line with one of our gate pillars. I did try to get the alignment spot on but holding the iPhone whilst pressing the button proved beyond me.

Another cold windy day.  We feasted well, Pat providing food suitable for Mr Dog’s different diet requirements.

Mr Dog had arrived with a new entertainment ‘Name That Tune’ with contestants playing a tune on the Kazoo. I really enjoyed this, as this was an instrument I discovered I could play well. I was able to pick from my extensive familiarity with the Classical catalogue. If I can play it, anyone can.

Everybody enjoyed the game.

Mr Dog then discussed possible hobbies he could pursue now that he has retired.

Modelmaking was discussed and he mentioned the Catalina Flying boat.  He had purchased a plastic kit but was put off by the amount of painting required. 

I showed him a photo book I had made of "The Leuchars Air Displays" which included several photos I had taken of the Catalina. The extra shows the cover of the book which features a Fairy Swordfish Biplane. I was amazed to see that these digital photos had been taken in 2001.

Mr Dog has many sets of photos he could turn into photo books. That appeals.

He then suggested building a model boat from a Billings Boat kit. He had bought a partially completed model of the Cutty Sark. I found the instructions for the Cutty Sark and downloaded them for him. It would seem he will have to buy a second kit to complete the first.

I produced a partly completed model I had been working on. See second extra.

These are complicated models built out of a variety of materials, but mostly wood. I suspect that time, skill and patience will rule boat building out.

After a very fine lunch, Pat repaired an earring for Mrs Dog and decided that it was much better to remake the whole ear clip and fixings on both.

Could Mr Dog become a jeweller? Time will tell.

We then loaded up the luggage in Mr and Mrs Dog’s vehicle and they headed off into the setting sun.

I then set him my photos of the Catalina, one of which is the third extra.

We watched Call The Midwife. What a superb series this is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.