Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Looking Up

We had the lightest of snowfall this morning - didn't even amount to a dusting but looked very pretty as it drifted down.  After wearing Jax out and getting him settled for a nap, I sat on the sofa and took some shots out the window with this being my favorite.  I love these simple little birds, dark-eyed juncos.  On the surface they appear to be drab gray and white birds but when one looks closely, one sees the subtle brown tones mixed in with the shades of gray - all set off by pink bills for a dash of color.

We've been doing some training with the pup today.  I took him for a mile walk on the Lane where we worked diligently on not tugging so much.  He's really an awful tugger and I've trying a new way to get him to stop which is to immediately walk him in a tight circle when he starts pulling.  Too soon to tell if it will work, but I'm hopeful.  I also have a harness with two connections (top and front) and a leash that connects to both, giving me more control.  If all else fails, I will try a "halti" which is a harness that straps across the dog's nose.  Many people swear by them and they are supposedly not uncomfortable to the dog.  He is such a cheerful little soul that I don't want to do anything to quash his happy personality.  If anyone one has experience with halti gentle-leaders, I'd love to hear from you.

After a walk and some training, followed by a game of "catch me if you can" in the house, the boy followed me upstairs to my office and immediately discovered Charlie on his bed.  Charlie glared at him, so Jax hopped up on my little under-window shelf and proceeded to try to curl up in the very small bucket-style cat bed.  Look in Extra for a good laugh.  Needless to say, that didn't last long.

I mad an appointment for Jax to see the vet next week - he has these little scabby things on the very tips of both ears and has had them since we got them.  I don't know why I didn't bring this up on our last visit, but I guess I was so used to feeling them that it just slipped my mind.  His ears don't bother him at all - not tender or itchy - but something is up.  Some sort of dermatitis maybe.

It is going to start warming up over the next few days so I'm hoping the ice in the yard finally melts.  I have a 30-foot lead for the pup now so we can play catch in the yard once it isn't a sheet of ice.

Dark with nuts today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.