Turnstone

By the time we leave the house today, the light’s already fading. There’s been some morning sunshine, but it doesn’t last, so now it’s another case of chasing tiny patches of blue sky. They’re few and far between, and just as we set off towards the west, the rain sets in. We change direction and head east towards Llanddulas - though I’m neither hopeful of a pleasant walk, nor optimistic of any decent shots. 

It seems I’m right on both counts, the beach being bleak and windswept, and lacking in all life but for a couple of justifiably miserable looking gulls perched on the wooden groynes. 

Fortunately, G has his binoculars and spots a tiny group of turnstones on a jetty - the first we’ve come across this year. I clamber across the rocks, finally managing to pick them out, and creep up slowly. I don’t have my 600mm lens, and either it’s my eyes or my 200mm lens just isn’t focusing - but then the light is dire.  By now there are only two left on the rocks, and one of them flies off, clearly spotting the intruding photographer. Fortunately, the one remaining turnstone stays, intent on feeding, until a sudden burst of vicious horizontal rain sends both of us rushing for shelter! 

So that’s today’s main, one determined little turnstone - best viewed large as that ISO needs all the help it can get! 

I think I’ve almost caught up with journals - I’m afraid hearts are very scarce as it’s so easy to run out when you’re catching up. And thanks for all your comments and stars over the last few days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.