Living my dream

By Mima

Home

Having realised yesterday that barely any Blippers know that I live in a series of cabins and a converted truck, I am starting a series of Blips to show you my home.

I live on an acre of gently sloping land, with giant macrocarpa trees along much of the boundary. Heaps of privacy. Heaps of peace and quiet. One neighbour, directly over the road (the owners of the dogs, horses, sheep, cattle and hens I occasionally look after).

I have lived here for almost five years. When I moved in it consisted of a tatty orchard, three overgrown paddocks and huge areas of bare lawn, between various buildings.

This view is taken from the ‘new cabin’ - three years old - which you’ll see in due course. We are looking north, across the main lawn.

From left to right:
- chook run,
- mower shed,
- up the steps to the study (sewing-, writing-, reading-, art room),
- then along to the deck of the truck (the truck itself is hidden behind vegetation and contains bathroom, dining / kitchen, pantry / laundry),
- the bathing deck (outdoor baths)
- and finally the herb bed which you saw yesterday.

There are a couple of raised beds in front of the study / truck which were here when I arrived. In fact all of these structures were here. Most of the planting wasn’t. There are three hazelnut trees on the main lawn, which I planted two years ago. But the main food growing areas are elsewhere on the property.

The weird ladder behind the truck deck used to support a solar panel array, which had gone long before I moved here. The power pole is my source of power now: I’m on the grid. One day I’ll install solar panels again, but for now it’s beyond my budget.

The huge water tank is completely hidden: it is located between the study and truck.

I hope you’re taking notes, there will be an exam later…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.