Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Lots of Logging

There has been significant logging activity in the area of Cannock Chase where L rides over recent months.  Not only that but they have also created a new track to more easily access this area with heavy vehicles to collect the felled trees.  I'm afraid that some of the other tracks look significantly worse, having been churned up by the vehicles doing the felling and I met a fellow walker on Saturday who was bemoaning the condition of paths and tracks in the vicinity.  Now they appear to have completed the felling, I'm hopeful some remedial work will take place as the County Council, who manage the area, are keen to make it as accessible as possible to visitors.

After my walk I watched with interest as a saddle fitter worked on some of the other horses tack at the stables.  She expertly stuffed a saddle as I watched with flocking, made from some of the softest wool I've ever felt.  

We got chatting and she said that the art of saddle making was being lost as so few new people were coming into the profession.  Many of the people she deals with in the trade are in their late 60s but still carry on because of the lack of new people to take their places.  It can take up to 6 months from order to supply of a new saddle. Iit's a sad indictment that we are not encouraging young people into these businesses, particularly in this area where there is a strong tradition of leather work and saddle making.

**I've added an extra shot of the fitter working on one of the saddles**

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.