Now, as I see it......

By JohnRH

Hickling Broad

This afternoon we had a not entirely successful trip over to the Norfolk Wildlife Trust nature reserve at Hickling Broad.  The reserve is home to one of the few breeding populations of common cranes in the UK and this time of year is apparently a good time to see them flying in to roost at the reserve.  Unfortunately, no-one told the cranes that.  We did actually see one flying over and a magnificent sight it was too, but I didn't have a chance to get any photos of it.  The reserve is larger than I expected so I think we will go over again and allow much more time to explore it; there are quite a few paths, hides and observation points and I'm sure there is a lot more to see than we managed, including a significant population of bitterns.  We did manage to see one otter, or at least it's head as it swam across into a reed bed, and a muntjac that allowed me a couple of blurred shots from a distance before it ambled away.  I've put one as an extra.

Definitely a place to revisit, and probably soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.