Anne's Daily Encounters

By dutchdelight

It's hard to say Goodbye

Oh you Blippers understand well that I find it hard to say goodbye again soon ~ do wish I could stay, but I should return here for another stay. Thank you all lots for your kind reactions! 

I went to see friends once more this morning and we spent a nice couple of hours together with talks and stories from the past. On my way back home to Sweetheart, I passed from this touristshop to make some foto's as agreed earlier.
The owner Christos remembers me as a customer over many years. And he's fond of his shop as this is where he's worked all his life in this shop following his papa in his footsteps... his children won't do the same for him now, so his shop becomes like a museum full of memories ~ it's as if we both find it hard to say 'Goodbye'  to what is dear to us.

He told me that in 1954 his father had started the first touristshop of Chania in Souda, where is the large port of Chania for ferryboats and touristcruisers and naval ships; tourists initially arrived there and left from there. Then in the early 60-ies his father had come to Chania and started a new touristshop there; close to where the city's main markethall is (Agora) and in 1970 he had to move from that spot and started this shop up in Tzanakaki Street....the spot that holds many memories for the shopkeeper and some for me 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.