Life In Wales

By KarenC

Dog Sledding

As part of my birthday present, Alan paid for me to go dog sledding at Mynydd Sleddog Adventures within the forest trails of South Alwen Forest.  This is Wales' first and only outdoor activity provider, offering husky rides and sleddog experiences with their team of racing sled dogs. I was booked for 9.30am, but it was only a 40 minute drive through some beautiful countryside and roads lined with hundreds of Christmas trees - the only thing that was missing was some snow.  

When I arrived I met Joe who was getting her dogs ready - there were 4 Siberian Huskies; Lyder, Drwg, Sirous and Rhun plus 2 Scandinavian Hounds; Ghost and Marbles, who were all harnessed to the sled.  She gave me a set of overalls to put on, and a helmet with a visor, which I was thankful of as I got very muddy (see my extra), and as soon as all the dogs were attached, off we went.  I was a passenger with Joe behind me but the dogs are used to the tracks and knew where they were going. It was great fun and they're beautiful and very friendly dogs.

Once back, I was able to fuss them all, and Sirius loves to give hugs, so once he'd got his legs wrapped round me, I couldn't get him off lol!  Joe then got her three wheel buggy out and got three more dogs out of their crates - another Siberian Husky called Cuillin and two Alaskan Huskies called Chase and Starla.  She also re-attached Ghost as he has so much energy that one run isn't enough for him - she said the fitter he gets, the more exercise he needs!  I stayed while she went round again and took some photos of her which I said I would email to her.

Unfortunately while I was there, I got a call from the care home to tell mum that mum had had another fall this morning.  They said she's ok, but has hurt her arm - apparently she got up, tried to get to the bathroom on her own and forgot to use her zimmer frame, so lost her balance.  She's still feeling sick and Chloe said that a couple of other ladies that mum was sat with the other day have now also got sickness and diarrhoea so she thinks it's a tummy bug.  I'm due to see mum tomorrow morning, but I've got to phone first thing to see how she is, if she's still not well I won't be able to visit.  It's a worry but I'm so glad she's there and not at home on her own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.