Life In Wales

By KarenC

Birthday Boys

It's Bobbie and Milou's birthday and they're  8 on the 8th!  So before I left this morning we had to have a very quick photoshoot, luckily they're very good and they waited for their little birthday cakes until I said they could have them.

I then drove to mum's as I had an electrician booked to check the electrics ready for renting it out, and Leigh brought Emily to have a look round. They're still interested in renting, and understand that we need to get the work done first and then get the agent back out to give us an updated rental valuation, so he going to get his quote to me in the next couple of days.

As part of the electrical safety check, the electrician had to check the new electrics in the bathroom that were done the other week, and it's a good job he did as he found that the shower had been wired incorrectly with the live going to neutral!  Also there are some wires from the back of the shower that haven't been covered and there's a small area of tiling missing which would be dangerous as once the shower is switched on, the wires will get wet!  Needless to say I've emailed the contractors and sent photos.  The electrician kindly corrected the wiring in the shower, but there was nothing he could do about the exposed wires at the back.  Fortunately the wiring passed the test, so he's issued me the report  and thankfully we don't have any major work to do.

I had intended to do some clearing out at mum's, but I just didn't feel like it, it's not a pleasant job to have to do, although I know we have to do it sooner than later.  But I gathered all her pictures to hang in her bedroom in the home, cleared a bin bag full of rubbish and got the new, unused bedding that I bought her, and will give these to Rachel as Scarlett has a double bed, so she'll be able to use them.

I phoned the home to see how mum was today, and they let me speak to her, but she sounded awful and struggled to talk as she has a sore throat.  She said she's fed up, bless her!   I'm sure she is as it seems to be one thing after another at the moment, fingers crossed she's on the mend soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.