An Avid Lensman

By SarumStroller

Reaching out - for a hand to touch...

Like yesterday, another originally potential Blip that I've specially re-shot.

Initially shot on Mar 29th to be my 'thankyou' image and the notion that Blip people really do reach out, after my difficult re-naming and relaunch the tulips shone through as the better choice of Blip that day as it was frankly much brighter and cheerier and signified the virtual bunch that I wanted to send everyone.

So why this re-take today? No other real reason than that the forecast is miserable and a wander in town made it easy before it woke up (NOT the model, that would have really made me jump!) And that I have had been having discussions in Blip comments about fixed fast lenses, this being the nice sweet little Nikkor G 85mm f1.8.

The dummy behind is about a foot to 18" behind the point of focus, yet the bokeh has left that one's hand only just recognisable and smoothed it all out to a creamy blur. Someone in the shop had moved the dummies from my original so I couldn't just take the same one again. Some extra contrast added too after as it was taken through plate glass window at an angle. I also sharpened the finger tips only - I didn't want the noise increased over all the image where only a tiny part would actually benefit.

I also desaturated the colours except for the reds, which were made richer and darker.

I've condescended to add a music track link, which I've never done before : Showroom Dummies by German synth quartet Kraftwerk. It's not their best track but to be honest it is the only 'song' I know of to be actually called anything appropriate, so for the curious, give it a quick click.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.