KIRKBY LONSDDALE REVISITED

Hubby and I had a much needed morning out this mornng.  The weather wasn't too bad, cloudy with sunny intervals (and not grey or raining, yeah).

Kirkby only takes about 30 minutes to get there so it's a nice nearby location to visit.  On arrival we were surprised to see so many cars on the way into the town, then at the Market Square there was actually a market on.  I wondered whether we would be able to park, but we did, no problem at all. 

We started off walking through the town, called in at No. 44 for coffee, well hubby had a bacon butty - excellent he said it was.  I had just one crumpet as that is enough for me that time of the morning.

We then headed to the church and Ruskin's View again  This time we went down Radical Steps.  Boy they are rather wonky, all different sizes and shapes so I had to take my time getting down there, but it's worth it.

We then went for a lovely walk along The River Lune from whidh the town gets its name (that and the church of course).  A lovely walk.  Not too many people, mostly dog walkers but even then only a few.

We walked along to Devil's Bridge.  This time I managed to walk on down right to the side of the river, a bit of clambering over roots and rocks, but with hubby's help no problem.  We then walked over the bridge so hubby could read all the information posts and then down through the park onto the other side of the bridge.

We then just walked back up the road and round the back lane into the town.  Past the market stalls, which looked quite busy but not too crowded but we didn't stop to have a look today.

Then on up to Kirkby Lonsdale Brewery for lunch.  Now I've never been in before, I hadn't really realised before that it was a cafe, it looks like a museum from the outside.  Anyway, it's very pleasant inside.  A very limited menu, but still delicioius all the same.  There is only Panuzzos (a sort of Italian flat bread sandwich or pancakes.  We had a panuzzo each - very tasty.  They do have pizzas but only on Friday and Saturdy evenings. 

It does amaze me how quickly people have given up wearing masks and sanitising.  I still do it and will continue to do so for years to come.  It's not difficult and so much better than getting covid.  If I go somewhere that's too busy I just walk away I'm afraid.  I do hate that bit but a few people I can handle but not busy places, mind you to be fair I never could really so that isn't just down to covid, that just makes the anxiety kick in quicker now and I can get very anxious in crowds.  Just me and it's daft I know but the anxiety makes me feeled pinned down, breathe funnily and scared - yep I know I'm weird but that is me.
Then just back home again.  I will have to be taxi service for hubby to go for a drink with his friends tonight (only 4 of them).  

Now trying to edit the photos I took  and will make a collage when I've done them.  

I will now catch up with your blips this evening.  Do take care and stay safe. I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.