Not a Grotty Day...

Stourhead is a well thought of National Trust location and a lovely place for a walk. It's a bit manicured for me, but Janet felt like a stroll around it so off we went. It's a long way.

There are only so many views, and they've all been done. Here's the main view out of the grotto bordering the lake. In the extra is the iconic view from the front entrance and the Bristol High Cross; which was originally the market cross in the centre of old Bristow circa 1300's, then 'improved and enlarged over time, it eventually became such a nuisance to the expanding city it was given to the then owner of Stourhead.

An eventful day. I was hoping for some decent shots of heron and cormorant on the lower lake, but they spooked. After half an hour we realised they weren't coming back, so we walked the length of the parkland, back to the car. At which point Janet realised she no longer had her iPhone with her... Utterances were uttered and she fled in a random direction in a phone searching panic.

I, 'Mister Calm in a crisis', logged into her "find my phone"... yes, of course, it was back on cormorant isle. A long walk later and Janet found me as I was returning with her phone. I am a hero, of course...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.