Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Less is More

Broke my month plus long medical center fast today to go to a cardiology consult scheduled last November (there was no hurry) about the possibility of implanting a heart monitor.   The idea was to try to figure what caused the 3 incidents of “drop attack” I’ve had in the last 5 years.   (think “faceplant”,   two resulting in broken bones) .      Well he was great..reviewed all the information he needed which I will spare you and said he didn’t think it was called for.…sometimes doing nothing is the best way.  He SAID ”Less is more”!  So hard for doctors to do nothing!   Unless I needed it for my “mental health”   I think I do NOT.  

Less is more…so who said that ?  It seems it first appeared in a poem by Robert Browning, Andrea del Sarto, in 1855.   “Yet do much less, so much less…well, less is more, Lucrezia; I am judged.” (you can read it yourself....the painter del Sarto (16th C)  is speaking to his wife Lucrezia and lamenting that he is not a better artist.. I just found out that this poem is also where "man's reach must exceed his grasp" is from!)   Many designers and artists use the expression  as inspiration to make something simple yet beautiful.  Mies Van der Rohe , the architect, used it early on when referring to less visual clutter in our homes.  (I think ours might not qualify) 

The photo is my hair cut today (notice it’s not ALL white!)   Less is more managable and simpler!
And H took several boxes to Goodwill!   Every little bit is good.

Annie my neighbor haircutter in the extra...she has a beautiful garden and gave me some arugula today...she says yes she needs a haircut.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.