The Friendship Plant

A bit of a quiet day; cold and grey outdoors.
I thought about  going into town to see Prince Charles unveil the  new sculpture of  Licoricia, a very important  and powerful Jewish woman who lived, and was later murdered, in Winchester in the  13th century. As it happened, I would have had a wasted journey as HRH tested positive for Covid, and couldn't  attend the event. I look forward to seeing and photographing the statue  another day.     

I caught up with some email correspondence and listened to some radio programmes on Sounds which I had missed, in particular, Michael Rosen's recent "Word of Mouth" with Kathryn Maddix discussing how to really listen to people, and to have "tender" ( ie "challenging" or "difficult")conversations with them. A lot of wise information  there, I thought.

This is a kind of bromeliad, Bilbergia nutans, or the Friendship Plant.
My late sister -in-law, M, gave me a couple of offshoots, many years ago, and I have passed on others  to friends,  hence its common name. I am very pleased to see it flowering again, and to think of M, who sadly died last week.     

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.