The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Snow drift

Most years I go for a walk up to this wood above Beetham to see the snowdrops below the ruined house.  And each time I take a lot of photos that somehow don't do justice to the drift of white.  Today I left it too late in the afternoon, the sun was below the slope, and it was too shady.  But here they are blipped anyway, or else I'll never share them with anyone.

I know nothing of the story of this house, or how it was originally accessed.  It had an electrical connection before it became derelict, and there used to be a cooker and bits of furniture strewn around the woodland floor, now happily gone.  Perhaps the occupants had an excessive fondness for snowdrops, or perhaps they have been gone so long that the plants have had time to spread themselves profusely downslope.  Either way, it's a cheerful sight on a cold February day. And this is perhaps the first time I have seen them at peak flowering.

I did stop at Sandside on the way home, but I've resisted the temptation to use the photo of the metallic water and crepuscular rays as the main, see extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.