Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Just a Pile of Rocks

It was an unusual dawn.  Despite clouds seeming to fill the sky, they started to colour up on the eastern horizon about half an hour before sunrise.  I wasn't anywhere special; in fact I was driving along a road with large warehouse buildings on either side, but I managed to find an area where I could walk up to a high position, where I found this pile of rocks.  I also disturbed a small herd of about ten red deer, that I only saw at the last minute because of the low light.

Not quite sure why these rocks, and others nearby, had been stacked up in this way.  The land's former use was mining so that may have something to do with it.  At least it gave some foreground interest to the scene.

After that it was shopping, before cleaning lots of walking boots, before sitting down to watch two very close games of rugby.  The France v Ireland game was very entertaining.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.