Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Iceland - Day 2

It was another early start and long day, but we were blessed with good weather. After breakfast at 7am we went to Diamond Beach to wait for the sunrise. This is a black volcanic beach that is littered with chunks of ice, which have broken off the glacier further up the lagoon. We took so many photos, we were there for about 3 hours by which time the sun had risen but it was not a spectacular sunrise. My heated gloves worked like a dream...until the battery ran out after 3 hours as in the cold the batteries wear down quicker than usual, and then my hands got so cold I could hardly work my camera.

We went across the road to the Jokulsarlon glacier lagoon where there is a basic cafe for a hot drink,  and then spent time wandering around the shores of the lagoon taking more photos. The lagoon was so full of chunks of ice that it was difficult to get a decent composition, as it was too full. This changes all the time, and by tomorrow those chunks of ice can be washed out to sea. 

We had a snack to eat at the cafe for lunch and then went back to the Diamond Beach to wait for sunset. We did get a lovely sunset but I did not get any photos I really liked, there was always another photographer in the way! 

I took so many photos today and I have hastily edited some to load here, but I have hardly looked at all of them properly.

We only got back to the hotel at 6.30pm, with time to freshen up and then had supper was at 7.30pm. We had planned to go out to see the aurora after supper but everyone was really tired and we were not sure the aurora would be visible as there was cloud cover, so we have postponed this until tomorrow evening.

Tomorrow another early start, we plan to go back to Diamond Beach as the sunrise should be better, then spend some more time at the glacier lagoon, and then at 2.30 we are booked to visit the ice cave - then supper followed by a possible aurora sighting. It is non stop and there is no time for anything in between, I am really tired now and need to go to sleep as it is late. I am very grateful for the wonderful comments and hearts on yesterday's image of the little church, I was surprised as it was such a quick grab shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.