My Life Is Not Average

By melamny

Bothwell Castle

Amanda and I went on our third annual trip to a castle we hadn't been to before for my birthday today. We drove to Uddingston and had lunch at the Tunnock's Tearoom, and bought a box of dark chocolate teacakes while we were there, before heading on to Bothwell Castle.

Bothwell is interesting; it looks a bit odd as much of the front wall and entrance has obviously been removed at some point and has been replaced more recently. As with most castles it has been added to and changed over the years, but there are some particularly interesting features like the foundations of towers that were supposed to form the original entrance, but were never finished, and this octagonal tower which at some point was cut down to half its original size.

When we got back we had cake: Rapunzel's tower, made by my mum. Nicola made a fantastic cake for me on Saturday, too. Yum.

So, 21, here we go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.