Happiness

Been putting old pics of my mum’s into an album. I love this one of her and Dad, especially the loving way he is looking at her. Here, mum is pregnant with me, standing at the back door of the home in Blackford. It must have been such an exciting time, waiting on the birth of their first child.

Today I had a shift at the vaccine centre. Despite them saying that they would be quiet in February they put an e Mail out asking for volunteers to join their three paid staff. At one stage I had all three rows of chairs full. Again, quite a lot getting their booster for holidays. I had a lady, Kate, with her guide dog Misty, a golden lab/retriever. She told me a couple of jokes and then told me the story of her next door neighbour who when she moved next door was very helpful with her Mail and little bits and pieces needing done in the house. Then one night he called her and invited her in for a glass of wine. The night progressed and she wondered why her wine glass wasn’t emptying…. Then She said the guy threw himself in top of her (he was 69) and she was terrified. She managed to get away and home. Her mother said to call the police but she did not and then moved back in with her mother. What a horrible man.

It was quite a good shift, I met another volunteer who hadn’t been there before who volunteers at the hospital and I said I was interested in doing one morning on the trolley or the Cafe cos I saw it advertised in the WRVS. He’s going to put a word in and call me.

Hinterland for soup - mums with her shopping and home to continue our Shield obsession.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.