Partner in crime

Mr Blackbird, a regular visitor to the 'yard with his partner.

Tackled some admin this morning. Then noticed an an ominous email from HMRC. "Check your PAYE code change online." Change?
So this afternoon I logged in to the HMRC website. My tax code has indeed changed to allow "...for tax you owe (earlier year). Go to note 3". Note 3 informs me that "you owe £25 tax from an earlier year".
Nope. I'm sure that's not right - I paid the £25 by bank transfer before the end of January. Maybe the transfer didn't go through, better check.
But they did receive it, on 28 January.
"It's quick and easy to check the current position on your Online Account" it says. So I did -                                      
"Current position. You have over paid. £25 is available for repayment".

Aaaargh! Half the afternoon wasted establishing that one half of HMRC doesn't know what the other half is doing!

After that I needed to work off some frustration, and since it was peeing down by then pedalled away on the exercise bike for 40 minutes. 

A film in the evening, and the last of the Christmas port!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.