DERELICT SUNDAY

We watched Church online this morning and heard how leprosy still affects many people in the world - but we also heard how we can help by donating so that a new research centre can be built in Nepal, which we will be doing.    

It has been a wet and miserable day so far, so we decided not to go out driving around and anyway, why would we exchange a lovely warm and cosy house for a wet and perhaps even dangerous drive?

I remembered that in the old part of Swindon was a window in the back of the Locarno, an old building that has been allowed to fall into dereliction, that I had sometime ago and had never used, so in the true ethos of Blip i.e. taking a photograph ON the day, I quickly donned my anorak and we jumped into the car and drove up there.  It was hammering down, but I just nipped out of the car, took this shot - jumped back into the car - job done, and we were soon on our way home.

Just watched a disturbing documentary on Netflix - “The Social Dilemma”, mainly about Facebook and how it impacts us - along with Twitter and Pinterest and of course, other social media, and I guess that Blip is part of that too but the good thing is that there are no advertisements on here.  However,  I still need to limit my time commenting so you may not get as many comments in the next few days, whilst I try and be more disciplined!  I certainly have plenty to do as I haven’t finished decluttering yet.  

I have also decided that from now on, I am going to try not to scroll down and read everything in my Facebook feed and in all the emails I get everyday.  I have already signed myself out of Twitter and rarely look at Pinterest, so hopefully, once I get all this time back,  I can spend more of it with Mr. HCB, when he’s not out pottering in the garden!  

However, I do use various search engines and it was quite scary to realise that because of what I click on when I am asking Mr. Google a question, they probably know more about me than I know about myself.  Mmmmm I wonder if they know I am a chocoholic?

“In a world of algorithms,
     hashtags and followers, 
          know the true importance 
               of human connection.”
Simi Fromen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.