Use yer loaf!

Heavy rain overnight and not that exciting during the day either! I haven't been out all day - I made myself a promise to catch up on several day's worth of newspapers and to do yet more Photo Club stuff.

While Mrs M was out this morning I decided to make a loaf. I frequently use the bread maker, but as I've entered upon a trial to cut down on my gluten intake I tried last week to make a loaf with gluten-free flour, without first having done my research! I used the normal recipe and ended up with a three-inch high loaf which was as smooth and air-free as velvet! 

I was told I should have added something else to make up for the gluten, so Mrs M used another recipe using egg whites. The result was exactly the opposite - huge air spaces, but so fragile that on lifting a slice out of the toaster it came apart! So this morning I added Xanthum gum, but the result was as you see! 

Finally I made another one to bake in the oven, but in spite of checking very carefully that I'd used everything including yeast, after two hours it hadn't begun to rise. I scraped it out of the tin, mixed it up with more yeast, and put it back to rise. We shall see!

I won't be getting a job as a baker anytime soon!

PS. I've just cut this morning's loaf in two and put the picture on as an extra - don't laugh!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.