Crichope Linn

I had an unexpectedly free day today - so went for a jaunt with my friend Sarah to Crichope Linn, one of the best-kept secret places of our local area. In Victorian times, it was apparently  a popular tourist destination, and Sarah and I had fun imagining how we might negotiate the paths in crinolines..

The path and viewing spot are not for the fainthearted, and I had to try not to think about similar green slimy (seaweedy) spots, but just to be careful about where I was putting my feet. We also had to clamber over a few fallen trees. In the end, I was so busy looking at where I was going, and at the view of the narrow Cample Cleuch, that I took very few photos. A really good account with a wee video can be found here.

We made to  walk into a circular route and emerged onto a small track which gave a superb view of the surrounding hills. Then we headed into Thornhill for some lunch :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.