Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Kingfisher

Isn't she just beautiful? 

We took advantage of a break in the almost constant rain today and braved the cold wind for a walk around Spike Island this afternoon at 3pm. Mainly I was looking for the common sandpipers that frequent the mud at West Bank, but they were nowhere to be found. 
After nearly an hour and one shot of a Herring Gull, I was feeling a bit dejected and we headed back towards the car. As we passed over the lock, there she was, just sitting there, as she sometimes is. We saw a kingfisher in the lock last year here but this year had been unsuccessful so far. 
We feel so incredibly lucky to have seen three different kingfishers in three different locations in less than a fortnight. I'll be buying a lottery ticket this week I can tell you! 
And I'm not even going to apologise for posting another one this time :) Hope you love her as much as we do. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.