Boy or girl?

Following my visits to the 1920’s exhibition at the National Archives I decided to have a look at photographs I have from the 1920’s to upload some to their website, they may then be printed and included in the exhibition.
This is a photo from about 1921 with my father aged 4 and his sister who was 9 years older so would have been 13. We have this in a frame in our hall as it is a large print ..about 15” x 19” in a nice old frame. There were three other siblings three older brothers, one of whom died aged 6 before my father was born. 

Interesting to see the ‘best’ clothes and that my father had long hair and could be mistaken for a girl! It was a farming family so this was definitely best clothes!

My grandfather was a dairy farmer and cattle dealer in a small Somerset village, Cucklington. They also made lots of cheese. My father was also a dairy farmer and lived in the same village all his life. My brother and his son are still farming there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.