*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

I photographed tiny faeries today

“I know that the best time to see them is in that perfect hour before sunset when the sun sinks low on the horizon like a ripe peach and sends shafts of gold bursting through the trees. The "in between," I call it. No longer day, not yet night; some other place and time when magic hangs in the air and the light plays tricks on the eye. You might easily miss the flash of violet and emerald, but I- according to my teacher, Mrs. Hogan- am "a curiously observant child." I see their misty forms among the flowers and leaves. I know my patience will be rewarded if I watch and listen, if I believe.”
~Hazel Gaynor, The Cottingley Secret~

I've always loved faeries, it seems apt that I live a stone's throw away from where the Cottingley Fairies were photographed over a hundred years ago. I've always suspected those girls were a little like me but with a box camera rather than an iPhone ♥

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.