Grey Heron

When I went up to the loch this morning it was blowing a gale! There was no sign whatsoever of the young one. In fact there was very little activity on the loch. I went home and returned to the loch a couple of hours later as I had to get some shopping at the supermarket near the loch. Still no sign of the young one however the male spotted me and flew over from the middle of the loch to a branch near the edge. I wasn't sure if he would be interested in the fish I had but the minute I opened the box his head perked up and he moved a little closer. I threw a couple of bits over towards him and he was straight in to get them. I thought I had better keep the rest in case I ran into the young one. I got my shopping then thought I should maybe get some fresh fish, that way I could give the male some more and would have the fresh stuff if I ran into the young one. It was now raining  heavily  when I left the supermarket. The male was still where I had left him and he eagerly ate all the fish I had taken for the young one, who was still nowhere to be see..
After lunch it brightened up a bit so I made a third trip up to the loch. This time the young one spotted me and flew over to the drainage area. I opened the fresh fish and started to cut it up a bit for her. She ate the lot. I just got home in time before the expected storm moved in.
The extra is of the male. Also  I took a short video of the young one eating her fish you can see it here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.