Grey Heron

This is the young male. He watches for me coming from the top of the dovecote. When he saw me today he flew right up to the entrance. Only the young one has done that before. I gave him some fish then he flew over over to the grass beside the dovecote because an adult had landed. I started feeding them both but before I had finished a dog came running down the hill chasing everything, of course the heron were off as well. As usual the too late apology was shouted out and the several calls to the dog to return. I really am truly sick of these inconsiderate people who are to lazy to exercise their dogs at the far end of the park away from the wildlife. They either find it amusing that their dog goes chasing the birds or shout out a meaningless apology and do the same thing the next day.
Anyway there were 4 heron today, the regular male was not so regular today. The young female was there plus a slightly older female  who I at first thought might be the young one but she had too much grey on her head.  The crows all got biscuits on the way home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.