Horses

G and I went for a walk this morning along the old railway line to Letheringsett and back through the woods. I was really surprised about how muddy it was. I think it's as much to do with more people walking than used to and the fact that nearly all paths here are just across fields. Not much in terms of photo opportunities, so I walked back via the field with the horses in - I do like the little one. 

This afternoon I rang the Nissan garage to price match the MOT price for tomorrow, to the cheaper one locally as they promised. Of course, they immediately changed the story and now I needed a written quote on headed paper. So I went to ATS - and they quoted £20 more than the online price. So I've printed out what I can, my basket for a booking at Holt ATS, but I bet they won't accept that. They also said that cancelling my service plan would cost a £25 admin fee! Why are all companies so unethical these days?

Very windy here now and forecast overnight, and even worse forecast for Friday with the potential worst storm in 30 years. 

Day 702 / Day 21 Post Plan B (for my record only)
The ONS weekly surveillance study of private households to 12/2 showed 1 in 20 with the virus in England (down marginally); 1 in 25 in Wales (down); 1 in 13 in NI (uncertain trend) and 1 in 25 in Scotland (uncertain trend). Following JCVI advice, all UK countries are now to offer a Covid vaccine to kids aged 5-11, with NHS England intending to make the offer in April. The JCVI said this is 'with a view to increasing protection against potential future waves of COVID-19' and advise that two one third doses of the Pfizer vaccine are given at least 12 weeks apart. The WHO special envoy on Covid said to Brits 'please continue to wear face masks, continue physical distancing -it's the right thing to do'. Sir Keir Starmer says 'I think ending free testing is a mistake' and 'it's not good to get rid of free tests on health grounds, nor is it economically the right thing to do.' Researchers in the US found that declining antibody levels months after vaccination, represented a shift to a sustainable immune response. A trial is starting in the UK on Moderna's new jab containing genetic material for the Omicron variant. A Turkish man has now tested positive for 14 months, he's unable to fight off the virus as he has leukaemia (blood cancers do appear to be of particular concern).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.