A day in the life

By Shelling

Guest-harbour

To the far right of the picture, in the grey building with three rectangular windows, is Kalmars Tourist office, overlooking the guest harbour in front of me. The buildings to the left are all part of the new Kalmar university, also nicely placed along the waterfront. The grey house with the windows also has the office of my dentist, where I spent an hour of my morning to fix a tooth that suddenly cracked open and half of it fell out. An old filling had finally given up and didn't want to fill anymore. The job didn't hurt at all, at least not as much as paying 3000 kr. (300€) to get it fixed.

Out of picture, just behind the grey house with etc... is the impressive Kalmar castle and to the right of the castle is the Castle Hotel, where I later in the afternoon picked up my old and very good friend Pia, who is here for two days to work with some other friends of mine on a performance to be. Pia is a very skilled singing teacher and usually is working with drama students in Stockholm. Therefore we don't see each other very often, last time was October.

I invited her for an evening meal, I prepared the ingredients and a recipe and then we cooked it together. She's an excellent cook and don't need recipes but I wanted to treat her to something with a name. It was so nice to see her again and we spent some nice hours enjoying the meal and each others company. I just brought her back  to the hotel and on my way through Kalmar I realised I hadn't taken a single picture today so I stopped when I reached the harbour to let it represent my day in this blip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.