Damned if I know

Not sure I want to dwell too much on today, much of which was wasted fretting about my 15.30 dental surgeon consultation, with the Olympics to stare at to pass the time.  The morning was beautifully sunny but by lunchtime it was overcast with quite a strong wind and by late afternoon the rain had set in and the temperature was somewhere in the brrrr! bracket.  Post dental appointment, which was a useful if not enjoyable conversation, I did an Asda shop then had some quiet time home alone before bro arrived early for dinner. We spent the entire evening sucked in to a family history search for my father's relatives. We have come up against some unexpected developments recently and just cannot fathom it out. Searching isn't aided by the fact that the 1931 census was destroyed by fire and the war meant none in 1941 so the only record after the 1921 census is the September 1939 eve of war register which seems to have incomplete information.  Frustration washed down with beer and suddenly it was nearly 1am - we hadn't even noticed.  Bro went home and I realized I had no Blip - so I took another shot of one of the family pics I've inherited, that we've been looking at recently.  I have no idea who they are, which is kind of appropriate for today. From the war time blackout of the headlamp, I'm guessing that the pic dates from somewhere around 1940.  It's a very splendid car - I'm surprised that anyone in my family drove a car like that.  Just another one of the mysteries that there is no one alive who can answer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.