Life through my eyes

By Amanda_T

Bright Eyes at Dawn

Maybe you can see him too.  Always makes me feel sad that part of the book/film.  I still have my copy of Watership Down (see extra) which I can still remember buying.  We were on holiday (it was raining) and I wanted to buy this.  It cost me 95p!  Mum and Dad told me I was spending all my holiday money on the first day but I didn't care.  I wanted a book.  It was published in 1978 so I guess I was 8 or 9 at the time and can't think of anything else I still have from then!

I didn't get to speak to Mum today as she was too tired.

I started another painting this morning.  I'm very much enjoying oil paints but still experimenting to find "my style".  I seem to be drawn to painting in an impressionistic style.  It's not something I'm doing consciously so I am beginning to think this much be what appeals to me.

I managed to do a bit of gardening this afternoon when the Age UK lady was with Mr T.  I wanted to dig up a couple of acer trees that needed to go somewhere else and move the pond to the other side of the garden.  I think I've secured most things ahead of storm Eunice, but as we under a rare red weather warning, who knows?

Mr T has been a bit challenging today.  Not intentionally, just a consequence of the dementia.  It started at 05:00 when I heard him becoming very agitated.  He must have had a very vivid dream about getting tyres as he said oh good, I'm so glad you're here.  I've gone to get tyres but the place is closed, and I went to the one in Severn Beach but it's not there and I really need tyres.  Eventually he was reassured that it had just been a dream and he didn't need any tyres.  Meal times have been difficult too.  Shredding tissues to "dry" his sandwich and then trying to eat the tissue.  He has a "thing" about deconstructing food, so a sandwich is eaten a layer at a time (bread, filling, bread) and he did try to take a mini magnum apart to.  He was very tired at that point and after about 30 minutes of animated "conversations" he's settled down for now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.