Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Lifeline restored

We joke hereabouts that if Western Ferries stops running the weather must be really bad, and their car ferries certainly do plough doggedly across that bit of the Firth in all weathers. However, they were off from late afternoon yesterday, leaving us to all intents and purposes cut off, what with the unstable Rest and be Thankful road. It was good, therefore, to look out this morning and see the two red boats calmly sailing across the ruffled surface of the water - we depend on them for so much. 

I was out early at Morrison's, where an increasing number of young men stacking shelves and doing orders are doing so without masks. I asked one of them if there was a new ruling; he told me that it was "only recommended" that people wear masks now. Thanks, Boris. Fool. There were some battering hail showers, but I managed to duck in and out without actually being hit by any. I'm always glad when that's over for another week.

The weather went on improving through the day, giving us a dry afternoon with quite a bit of sun. We walked up the Ardyne Farm road as far as the end of the straight, which meant Himself managed a whole mile more than he has been these past months. We saw a buzzard hanging in the air above us, and heard a crowd of Canada geese complaining in an unseen field. It was rather gorgeous. 

The moon is rather gorgeous tonight too, sailing brightly between fat cumulus. We're not expecting the really high winds with Storm Eunice, though there's a chance of snow; I'm thinking tonight of all the people living in the area covered by a red warning and the disruption they'll be facing.

Now I'm off to bed to continue reading "All the Light we cannot see" - I keep having to stop when it gets too tense for bedtime. I've a feeling it was a blipper who recommended it - am I correct? If so, thank you. I'm loving it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.