6:09. Eunice is arriving……..

I went downstairs to make a cuppa to bring back to bed, and unlock our back side gate by the kitchen door for our two kitchen fitters, who are coming early today.
Just the last parts to finish now.
I don’t mind if they have to leave early or decide it’s too risky to drive, given the dire weather warnings.
It is incredibly mild outside (for advancing February).
The wind is picking up already and although we always have the bedroom window on vent it is blowing the curtain a little already. I can see the trees across the road through the slightly open Venetian blind.
The blind gives us more privacy now the new school is opposite, as the staff room windows on the first floor look directly into our house, once I open the curtains each day.
The sparrows are making a racket in the bushes across the road.
The robin was singing early as usual. I heard him at 4.00am when I went to the bathroom.
Thankfully I got off to sleep again.
I think he is building a nest in the climbing hydrangea on the porch wall. We have two old nests in there. A blackbird’s and the robin.
But I’ve also seen the dunnocks around so I keep a low profile for now as they are right next to our front window, They don’t take kindly to me peering out too closely!
Time for breakfast.
Omar and Raymond are hoping to be here for 8.00am.
We’re not going anywhere today and picked up a couple of microwave meals for lunch, (not being able to use the kitchen all week).
We have a “camp” kitchen in the dining room on a small foldaway table. Microwave, and kettle, plus toaster. We stocked up on a few ready meals and went out for a sandwich on a couple of days to our local Farmhouse Bistro. Yesterday we had a pub lunch.
I hope that by this evening Eunice will be abating, and people have managed to evade the worst of the consequences.
It seems to be centred along the Bristol Channel and South Wales.
Stay safe everyone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.