Yesterday...

Daylight now creeping across the sky. Gusty out. A few flying objects and stuff  rearranged and added to my garden by the wind. 

Windy.com tells me that wind will be gaining force around noon here, and continue until Saturday. Possible winds of up to 80 mph. But the data keeps changing each time I look...

I have an email saying some medical supplies I was expecting to be delivered today, won't be now as they are not letting their drivers out to brave the winds. But no re-delivery date given. 

The bridge is closed all day today.

My other meds are going to have to wait until next week to be collected...

My creative this morning...
There were a lot more than 200 bulbs in those bags...done in Procreate and SketchClub apps.

I did about 4 changes of jackets and coats yesterday. They are still drying out. It took me ages to warm up under the electric blanket when I came in.

My garden was teeming with wildlife despite the wind and rain and hailstones, and me being out there.

Frogs hopping around. The stray cats came for food, and one went indoors and sat in the middle of my room for awhile watching me work (I left all doors open for fresh air and to blow the dust away...saves cleaning and dusting...). The sparrow and female blue tit were doing an amazing balancing act on the swaying bird feeders, and I had to keep replacing their wooden perches. The female blackbird (who acts more like a friendly robin), followed me around the garden, within a few inches of me, and checking the bulb planting (but Mr Blackbird does not like me at all).  The starlings clung on the the bare swaying cherry tree branches at the end of my garden. Oh, and mousey came out to look at me brazenly. We were outstaring each other. A field mouse. I said, 'You wouldn't still be standing there if Popeye were still here'. Mousey still stared at me. 'Popeye would have had you down his gullet by now, head first, in one piece, and with just your frantic tail waving out of his mouth,' I told mousey. With that, mousey number 2 leapt from nowhere, shoved mousey number 1 out of the way, and I saw it had no tail, it had been bitten off. It would have had no head if that had been Popeye. I need another mouser, and none of these stray cats are fitting that bill. They are just waiting for their servant  to feed them...

I was never going to get those bulbs in. Then I remembered, J was always buying me lovely plant pots (he had been a potter as well as a painter). And I had them filled with seasonal bulbs. When the bulbs died back, I used to put that plant pot behind the potting  shed until those bulbs were ready to emerge again. In this way I had many plant pots, many different seasonal bulbs, and rang the seasonal changes in my garden easily and effortlessly. But eventually they died off, my garden became more wild, and I put the empty pots safely away. Now I had to find them. 

I found some, filled them with soil. I have an area where I make my own rich soil (done that for the last  nearly 20 years). I also have my wormery in a dustbin (done that for the last nearly 20 years as well), and they make soil for me.  Still a lot of back breaking effort, but it got the job done. I am thinking when I finished, I wouldn't mind some double snowdrops...(yes, shoot me, I ordered some when I was warming up under my electric blanket later...75 of them...they are arriving on Monday...)

A nice warm cosy electric blanket beckons today. I deserve it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.