Could have been worse!

We did suffer from Storm Eunice today but when I heard the Isle of White had gusts up to 172mph (Edit Note - on the later news they said 122mph) I thought "Well, could have been worse", hence the title.
Early afternoon I drove to Stroud, Cashes Green, which is about 10 miles away. The Sat Nav took me down the route that I rode on the bike a while ago. At least this time it was daylight! https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y2vSMJ62ntI This is the ride that made me decide I most definitely need spots!
I thought that the wind, although strong, was not as bad as I expected. We are a bit sheltered down in the Vale of Gloucester. When I got on top of the hill, overlooking the city, I thought it might make a good blip.
I pulled over onto a gravelled area, near the junction with the B4173, and walked across the road. Then I realised how strong the wind was. What you can't see in the photo is the wind strength, you also can't see the roadsign pole that I've wrapped my right arm around to stop being blown over. It was pretty horrendous and it was impossible to hold the phone-camera steady so just did lots of clicks and hoped for the best. I have cropped it a little, and straightened it as they were all wonky!
The other photo is some of the debris on the narrow, winding, road. Some of it was the size of logs, dead wood that broke up when the branches hit the road. In the photo there is a felled tree to the left side, the twiggy branches just reaching over the road a bit. Needless to say, I drove quite steadily and slow, stopping to take the debris photos. Plus, of course, there was the occasional other car coming along, they were also driving slowly I'm glad to say.
Now, at 5.30pm, it's calmed down an awful lot, sky is clear as evening creeps in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.