Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Dufflecoat regrets

Storm Eunice passed us by, thank goodness - it’s much worse down south. In fact, the morning was bright and pleasant. So bright and pleasant that I took Archie out for a walk, while JR did her exercises at home, having cancelled the gym.

I didn’t even put my really warm weatherproof coat on, nor yet did I put my special lined bunnet on. How I regretted that later…

I decided to get any bus that arrived. But there was a wee wait, so I went round the corner for the other bus, which was minutes away. I forgot, after last time on that bus, that I wouldn’t go on it again. It has been re-directed all over the show, due to the North Bridge being closed for renovations (that are taking years!)

So I got off and wandered down steps and a lane I’d never been in before. This actually took me into the less-than-salubrious ‘Cowgate’ area - graffiti, litter, boarded up buildings, night clubs and bars. Nice. And the wind got up and swirled along the street. I got very cold in my duffle coat. But there was no quick way home - so I had to go on through the Grassmarket, passing many many cafes and cosy looking little businesses full of tempting pastries and cakes, but I resisted. Day Three of The Diet.

I got to my bus at last. And met Kaiser’s family also waiting at the bus. By this time it was sleeting and freezing cold. Kaiser was not with them - he wouldn’t go out in such weather. His court case re the uncontrolled dog who attacked him (a couple of years ago) and broke his back leg, is next week.

I was very cold and very tired when we got home (5,585 steps). It took me all afternoon to get warmed up. I watched the curling, and the women’s team won, and they’re now in the final! Actually, it’s such a tactical game, very watchable.

This photo was taken in the front of one of the famous Cowgate pubs. Archie looks miserable. I didn’t look too happy myself, at this stage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.