Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

I’ve had a wee bit of a cough/sore throat coming on for a couple of days, and yesterday out in the cold cold wind didn’t really help. And so today I accidentally stayed in bed. 

After JR had gone to the gym, and Archie joined me on the bed, the morning just kind of disappeared. I was reading the news, and Twitter, and listening to podcasts - one is never bored!

I’m afraid it lasted into the afternoon too - JR went into town, Archie joined me on the bed again, and I only got up later when I had in mind a banana sandwich, so had to go and make it.

I then finished off the third programme about Putin, and tidied up/deleted my host of recorded Tv programmes, some of which I will never watch. But one I’ve had for ages about the ‘World’s End Murders’ I watched. People in Scotland will know about the two girls who were last seen in 1977 in the World’s End Pub in the High Street. They were murdered and their bodies found dumped miles away. Policing methods in those days was just paper and pencil, and wee file cards - thousands of them - so the murderers were not caught. Until DNA methods had advanced so much, so that 45 years later they could be identified, thanks to the careful storage of the items of the girls’ clothing. I find this amazing, because how could anyone have known at the time how crucial that evidence would prove to be in the future. All the DNA stuff is in the next episode.

I’ll get up tomorrow. JR has booked brunch while Archie is out with Elizabeth.

Photo by JR


PS It seems that this is my 4,000th blip. I would have GOT UP for it, had I known!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.