A Day in Town

I was in town for the Planning and Works Committee today. Mornings are not my favourite time so being in town at 8:15 is not something I enjoy, particularly when there's been a lot of snow in the night. It took 20 minutes to dig the car out, despite having cleared it all the previous evening. The snowplough had done a pass in the night, so the country roads were drivable if slow. I got to the meeting about ten minutes late but others arrived even later.
The meeting was largely uncontroversial. At one point we proposed an amendment to a proposal and the opposition really laughed and showed us their paper, where they were about to suggest exactly the same amendment.  
When I came out of the meeting in mid-afternoon the snow had stopped falling and the world was very beautiful. This is the town park, designed well over 100 years ago and leading down the hill to the cathedral.
There were large piles of snow everywhere. When it snows heavily in town the snow ploughs swing into action, pushing the snow into huge piles, and clearing a path for traffic. Later a large machine digs into these piles, throwing the snow into a lorry which then drives it to the snow tip on the edge of town.  People who live in town always complain about the snow clearing but in reality it works fairly well, especially for the larger roads.
When I got home our neighbour was working on our snow. I waited ten minutres until he was done and then I could drive right up to the front door and unload my shopping. We've no complaints about the snow clearing in our village!
This is a backblip from yesterday.  Today's blip has also arrived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.